European Economic Area

Norway is a part of the European Economic Area (EEA) through its membership in EFTA. The rules and regulations in the EEA, which mirror those of the EC Treaty, have been implemented into Norwegian legislation through special Acts and regulations.

The EEA Competition Act of 2004 establishes competence for the Competition Authority to apply Articles 53 and 54 of the EEA Agreement. The Act entered into force on 19 May 2005. Some amendments were made in the Act in December 2004. These amendments entered into force on 1 July 2005.

Overview of the EEA competition rules >> (EFTA Surveillance Authority)  
Legal framework >> (EFTA Surveillance Authority)  

The EEA Competition Act of 2004 >>  (as of 1 July 2005)
- amendments of substance >> (pdf)  

The EEA Competition Act of 1992  (repealed)

Responsible for this page: Legal Director